Categories
800-827-8478
My Account

Login

Forgot Password ?
3 Day Sale on Oil Paints & Oil & Acrylic Brushes - Extra 10% OFF Bonus Coupon & Already Reduced Hot Buys - must use code op19j65 at checkout
10% off orders $35 or more

LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Medium

LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Medium
Save
Up to
63%
Off List

Paint in heavy impasto techniques without wasting valuable pigment! Layers will dry without shrinking, cracking or wrinkling!

Paint in heavy impasto techniques without wasting valuable pigment with this quick drying, elastic, alkyd resin-based Painting Butter medium from LUKAS! Formulated with special drying agents and thickeners, this impasto medium helps keep the thick constitution of heavy paint application with no leveling, ensuring that your paint structure remains. Layers will dry without shrinking, cracking or wrinkling! LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Medium is a transparent, slightly amber-tinted mixture of alkyds, thickeners, and driers and is the same consistency as straight oil paint

Key Features:
  • Alkyd base speeds up drying time of oil paint
  • Dries at the same rate!
  • Dries evenly without wrinkling or cracking
  • Special drying agents and thickeners
  • Paint in impasto layers up to an inch thick!
  • No need to add alot of paint to it to get the color you want
  • Not only dries faster but can double your colored pigment!
  • Mixes easily with the oils and dries very quickly allowing additional coats of paint to be applied without smearing
  • If you like texture in your oil painting, you'll love this product
  • Available in 37ml and 200ml tubes, as well as a 750ml can
Perfect For:
  • Oil Painting Medium used to mix with oil paints for impasto techniques
  • Will thin the color somewhat but allows you to paint in heavy impasto layers
  • Ensures the layer dries completely and evenly
  • Impasto and palette knife painting techniques
  • Quick drying - special drying agents and thickeners
  • Ability to put paint over paint wish ease
  • Thickens the paint and makes it so much easier to use a palette knife.
  • Colors stay vibrant, Extend oil paints without making them weak or runny
  • Excellent consistency of the butter, ability to spread smoothly
...
LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Medium

Paint in heavy impasto techniques without wasting valuable pigment! Layers will dry without shrinking, cracking or wrinkling!

Paint in heavy impasto techniques without wasting valuable pigment with this quick drying, elastic, alkyd resin-based Painting Butter medium from LUKAS! Formulated with special drying agents and thickeners, this impasto medium helps keep the thick constitution of heavy paint application with no leveling, ensuring that your paint structure remains.

Layers will dry without shrinking, cracking or wrinkling! LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Medium is a transparent, slightly amber-tinted mixture of alkyds, thickeners, and driers and is the same consistency as straight oil paint:

  • Mixing it with your paint will thin the color somewhat but allows you to paint in heavy impasto layers while not wasting pigment
  • Ensures the layer dries completely and evenly
  • An indispensable medium for the oil artist fond of impasto and palette knife painting techniques!

Makes any oils better as it helps maintain brushstrokes and speeds the drying rate of oil colors

Key Features:
  • Alkyd base speeds up drying time of oil paint
  • Dries at the same rate!
  • Dries evenly without wrinkling or cracking
  • Special drying agents and thickeners
  • Paint in impasto layers up to an inch thick!
  • No need to add alot of paint to it to get the color you want
  • Not only dries faster but can double your colored pigment!
  • Mixes easily with the oils and dries very quickly allowing additional coats of paint to be applied without smearing
  • If you like texture in your oil painting, you'll love this product
  • Available in 37ml and 200ml tubes, as well as a 750ml can
Perfect For:
  • Oil Painting Medium used to mix with oil paints for impasto techniques
  • Will thin the color somewhat but allows you to paint in heavy impasto layers
  • Ensures the layer dries completely and evenly
  • Impasto and palette knife painting techniques
  • Quick drying - special drying agents and thickeners
  • Ability to put paint over paint wish ease
  • Thickens the paint and makes it so much easier to use a palette knife.
  • Colors stay vibrant, Extend oil paints without making them weak or runny
  • Excellent consistency of the butter, ability to spread smoothly
  • see videos, demonstrations and reviews
 
"I LOVE This Stuff!
I love Lukas Painting Butter, both for my own work and in my workshops. It's heavy texture and FAST drying time are "just the ticket" for my "knife paintings". I have turned many of my students onto it, too! It's now a staple of my "must-have" supplies."
 

Paint in heavy impasto techniques – LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Medium

Read Blog Article -> Thicken Your Oil Paints with Impasto Medium for Oil Paints – LUKAS Painting Butter

 
Special LUKAS 25% Off
EXTRA 25% Off
REGULAR Prices*!

LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Medium
(37ml, 200ml and 750ml) Item #'s - 61771, 69968, 71120
Starting at ONLY $4.39
 
LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Medium is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lukas painting medium for oil This oil painting medium is like butter for toast. It enhanced the texture of the oil and added some shene. It dries well for continued painting then next day. Love working with this material. Mimi artist
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product!! Love this product!! Dries faster then the Williamsburg impasto that I used for years!! Also...you dont need to add much paint to it to get the color you want!! It does have a petroleum odor but the smell goes away after applied..I will be buying much more of this!!
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Medium For all levels of Artists I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! It not only dries faster but can double your colored pigment! The only thing to be wary of is if you buy the big 750 mil can, there is no way to reseal the can. I tried putting it is smaller double walled containers but the air got to it & dried it out! The best value is the 200 mil Tubes. Use what you need and screw the cap back on just like your paint! It works great with a palette knife as well as brushes! I wish I found this earlier!
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Wilson Bickford introduced this product to me...really extends the oil paints
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Great product, would buy it again" I use this with my oils it really helps extend the paint.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works great. I did notice that this product does not stay fresh in the freezer like other products....even the pigment paints. Some dry out more quickly and this does it reallly fast!
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great impasto medium for LUKAS 1862 oils I mix a little LUKAS Painting Butter with my LUKAS 1862 oil paints and paint with a palette knife. You really get a nice impasto painting with this product. Drying time is fast and colors remain vibrant. I feel it has a very low odor. I love all of the LUKAS oils and mediums.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing product! Could not be any happier! Lukas painting butter is simply the best! Buy some and try it for yourself.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WOW This product is amazing I added to my oil paints and my painting was dry in 2 days and I was globbing and smearing the paint onto my canvas and the effect is wonderful
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New tricks for an "elderly" dog As a first time user, I find it very useful but I'll just have to speed up my techniques!!! A big improvement on any othe medium I've used.
Date published: 2012-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from unbelibably good this product is so unbelibably good im sold for life
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! The Lukas painting butter is a great product! I was very happy with the way it performed especially for such an economical price. It seems to extend oil paints without making them weak or runny. I don't know how it works but it does! It's great for impasto work if you want your oil painting to retain brush strokes. The only reason I give it four stars instead of five is that it has a somewhat strong odor. I would definitely use it in a well ventilated area.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FUN! I oil paint paint primarily with painting knives and do a lot of impasto work so Lukas painting butter is a great addition to my kit. It mixes easily with the oils and dries very quickly allowing additional coats of paint to be applied without smearing. A word of caution; the tube tells you to use adequate ventilation and I cannot over emphasize this point.
Date published: 2012-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now we're talking! Compared to Liquin Impasto, Lukas is much better IF you're looking for a medium that really dries fast. Impasto effects, definitely. It's a bit smelly, but not near as bad as Liquin Impasto. I prefer the super fast drying - I like being able to put paint over paint wish ease. If you prefer impasto with a bit slower drying time, then Liquin Impasto might work for you (if you can tolerate the smell, lol).
Date published: 2011-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product If you like texture in your oil painting, you'll love this product. There's a reason it's called painting butter. It creates great textural effects, and with this, a little paint goes a long way.
Date published: 2011-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone should try Lukas Butter A must have for those who want to learn to Knife paint.
Date published: 2011-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I should have bought more. This stuff is so much fun to use! I did a little painting with it last night, and I just checked on it this morning... it's almost dry to the touch! This stuff makes knife painting easy, and works pretty good with a brush too if you really load it up. I should have bought the big can of it... I can see myself using a lot of this stuff.
Date published: 2011-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff Just tried this yesterday and am scratching my head wondering why it took me so long. Really love the way it thickens the paint and makes it so much easier to use a palet knife.
Date published: 2011-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great alkyd medium I use the painting butter just as I use alkyd medium. In addition I use it to build up impasto. It works exactly as advertised.
Date published: 2010-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this stuff! I love Lukas Painting Butter, both for my own work and in my workshops. It's heavy texture and FAST drying time are "just the ticket" for my "knife paintings". I have turned many of my students onto it, too! It's now a staple of my "must-have" supplies.
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this product for more texture and to use with my palette knives. I love the way my colors stay vibrant and the praise I get for the work when it is finished. I prefer the tube to the can as I don't get it used quickly enough. When I received the can of Butter it had a crust on the upper layer that I had to remove before I could use it. I have lost at least one fourth as it dries into a crust if I have a week or even less between painting times.
Date published: 2010-05-24
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_PARENT0001530, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jerrys
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71.52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36.94ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
Save up to 63% off list
wor Product Icons:
  • Is Proprietary When you see this symbol on our site or in advertisements it is a Jerry's Artarama best value exclusive brand. The exclusive brands offer quality, exceptional performance & value. Comes with a 30 day money back guarantee!
Product Listing
Rollover / Enlarge Image
Name
Size
OZ ML
Item #
List
Jerry's
Sale
Status
Qty
LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Oil Medium 37ml Tube
Name:Painting Butter Impasto Oil Medium Tube
Size: 37 Ml
Item #:
61771
list:$11.75
Jerry's:$5.89
Sale:$4.39
In Stock
Product Badge:
  • Is Proprietary When you see this symbol on our site or in advertisements it is a Jerry's Artarama best value exclusive brand. The exclusive brands offer quality, exceptional performance & value. Comes with a 30 day money back guarantee!
  • Hazardous Hazardous - This item is considered flammable or hazardous. These type of items are not available for rush or air service.
  • LPP Lowest Price - This item is already at the Best Lowest Price Possible and no further discounts or coupons can be applied.
LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Oil Medium 200ml Tube
Name:Painting Butter Impasto Oil Medium Tube
Size: 200 Ml
Item #:
69968
list:$23.55
Jerry's:$11.79
Sale:$8.85
In Stock
Product Badge:
  • Is Proprietary When you see this symbol on our site or in advertisements it is a Jerry's Artarama best value exclusive brand. The exclusive brands offer quality, exceptional performance & value. Comes with a 30 day money back guarantee!
  • Hazardous Hazardous - This item is considered flammable or hazardous. These type of items are not available for rush or air service.
  • LPP Lowest Price - This item is already at the Best Lowest Price Possible and no further discounts or coupons can be applied.
LUKAS Painting Butter Impasto Oil Medium 750ml Can
Name: Painting Butter Impasto Oil Medium Can
Size: 750 Ml
Item #:
71120
list:$64.10
Jerry's:$32.09
Sale:$23.99
In Stock
Product Badge:
  • Is Proprietary When you see this symbol on our site or in advertisements it is a Jerry's Artarama best value exclusive brand. The exclusive brands offer quality, exceptional performance & value. Comes with a 30 day money back guarantee!
  • Hazardous Hazardous - This item is considered flammable or hazardous. These type of items are not available for rush or air service.
  • LPP Lowest Price - This item is already at the Best Lowest Price Possible and no further discounts or coupons can be applied.
loading...