Categories
800-827-8478
My Account

Login

Forgot Password ?
FREE $5 or $10 Jerry's eGift card when you spend a $60 or $100 or more plus Extra 25% OFF Orders $75+ - must use code shopnow25 at checkout
Free Shipping orders $35+ & $5 ecard or $10 ecard with orders

SoHo Urban Artist H-Frame Studio Easel

SoHo Urban Artist H-Frame Studio Easel
Save
Up to
57%
Off List

Deluxe studio easel with ranges from horizontal to vertical!

The new H-Frame Easel from SoHo Urban Artist is the ideal combination of quality and value! A ratchet system easily raises and lowers the bottom canvas support and supply tray, and the easel adjusts to tilt forward for pastelists, and backwards for comfortable painting angles or to avoid glare— making it the perfect support for art in most media!

Key Features:
  • Stable & beautiful H-frame easel
  • Supports canvases up to 71" high
  • Adjusts in angle- tilts forward for pastels, back to reduce glare
  • Includes casters for easy movement
  • Mahogany stain finish makes an elegant presentation
  • Solid wood construction and brass-plated hardware
  • Square base for stability, casters allow for easy movement
  • Adjusts flat for easy storage
  • Ratchet system easily raises and lowers the bottom canvas support and supply tray
Perfect For:
  • Artists looking for the next level in easelsArtwork in any media from pastels to oils
  • Large-scale & rigorous painters
  • An elegant easel at a value price!
  • Support for art in most media
  • Adjusts to tilt forward for pastelists
  • Adjusts backwards for comfortable painting angles or to avoid glare
 
...
SoHo Urban Artist H-Frame Studio Easel

Deluxe studio easel with ranges from horizontal to vertical!

The new H-Frame Easel from SoHo Urban Artist is the ideal combination of quality and value! This classically-styled H-frame easel is designed to withstand the attacks of even the most rigorous of artists. Featuring a solid wood construction and brass-plated hardware, the square base ensures the ultimate in stability, while casters allow for easy movement. A ratchet system easily raises and lowers the bottom canvas support and supply tray, and the easel adjusts to tilt forward for pastelists, and backwards for comfortable painting angles or to avoid glare— making it the perfect support for art in most media! And of course, the mahogany stain finish makes an elegant presentation in any art studio. Step up to the next level in easels with the new SoHo-Urban Artist H-Frame Studio Easel!

A ratchet system easily raises and lowers the bottom canvas support and supply tray, and the easel adjusts to tilt forward for pastelists, and backwards for comfortable painting angles or to avoid glare— making it the perfect support for art in most media!

Key Features:
  • Stable & beautiful H-frame easel
  • Supports canvases up to 71" high
  • Adjusts in angle- tilts forward for pastels, back to reduce glare
  • Includes casters for easy movement
  • Mahogany stain finish makes an elegant presentation
  • Solid wood construction and brass-plated hardware
  • Square base for stability, casters allow for easy movement
  • Adjusts flat for easy storage
  • Ratchet system easily raises and lowers the bottom canvas support and supply tray
Perfect For:
  • Artists looking for the next level in easels
  • Artwork in any media from pastels to oils
  • Large-scale & rigorous painters
  • An elegant easel at a value price!
  • Support for art in most media
  • Adjusts to tilt forward for pastelists
  • Adjusts backwards for comfortable painting angles or to avoid glare
  • see videos and assembly instructions
 

Assembly Instructions

 Click Here for the SoHo H-Frame Easel Assembly Instructions >


SoHo Urban Artist H-Frame Studio Easel is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 112.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOLID & STURDY This easel has a small footprint, but don't let that fool you. It's a solid and sturdy workhorse that can truly handle larger canvas. Assembly comments: The directions that came with my easel show using the wood screws (marked B) in Step 1 to attach the brass supports. Don't do that. Use the tinier screws that are parts-packaged WITH the supports (parts letter I). Step 5 tells you to use 2 B screws, but they mean the remaining two G screws (that are 1/2 inch). Also, in Step 6, be sure to slide part M into the side rail grooves when you're attaching it to the center mast. The photo directions don't show a closeup of that maneuver, but other than that, the directions are clear and understandable. Assembly truly is easy if you lay out all the parts in alphabetical order first, take your time, and refer to the photos of the finished easel if you're not sure about certain parts positions and locations.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish the assembly instructions were better Reasoable price for a studio easel and quality was good. Parts were in separated packages so they were easy to identify. The printed instructions were not that great and I needed to backtrack twice during assembly.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great easel I received this easel a couple of weeks ago and am very pleased with it. It takes up little floor space, is easily moved around on the casters, and adjusts up and down smoothly. Bought on sale at fabulous price as well.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality. stable and very elegant looking Nice, sturdy, adjustable, visually pleasing. I love that it will hold basically any size canvas without being a massive piece of furniture
Date published: 2019-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tired of my portable easels falling over I purchased this easel for stability and I love it. I don't have to hold the easel so it won't fall down.
Date published: 2019-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So far, I’m satisfied with function and quality of this easel. I used to have a larger studio and painted on the wall - loved it. Was stable, and everything I wanted. Now, don’t have a the same and needed to get an easel. I’ve purchased a few. This is the one I’m the most satisfied with so far. The footprint is small, yet I can paint large. The thing I was most dissatisfied with (and why it has 3 stars instead of 4) was the directions for putting the thing together. They had pictures of the items included and the directions seemed to be very straight-forward. However, once I started the process, I realized how inept the instructions were. Let’s say you have 2 pieces. The directions say to attach one end to a certain part. Fine. Makes sense. What it doesn’t say, is to install so that little drill hole is on other end. (This is an example, there were a few things like this throughout) So, you’d get the thing put together and then realize one side as drill hole for another part that gets attached to it and other side doesn’t. FRUSTRATING. Why could’t they either tell us or show us in the illustration? I know it seems small, but the process probably took me about an hour longer to put it together. I want to paint, not try and decipher poorly planned directions.
Date published: 2019-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the finish and the compact design Bought it for my self for Christmas. Im in love with the sleek and compact design it fits perfect in my little space. Only thing that stops the 5 star reveiw is the instructions. It was a pain even looked for instruction on the web as recommended on pamplet but could only find A- frame video and other SOHO frames besides that I would highly recommend
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Versatile..portable...slim...it has wheels that lock
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small footprint Works great for me and my space. It has a small footprint, perfect for me.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Easle Nice, sturdy, adjustable, visually pleasing.. need I say more? This item won't dissapoint!
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love it! I recently joined a group of artists at a working studio & gallery space and I wanted a better easel to leave there. This one is perfect. Aside from being beautifully made it is beautiful to look at. I love that it will hold basically any size canvas without being a massive piece of furniture, and I can easily move it on its wheels.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for the price. It took two of us to assemble the easel. One read instructions while the other did the actual work. All of the parts were included so that was a real plus. It turned out great. It fits where it is needed. Looks like a nice wood finish. Overall I will get many years of service for a great price.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely LOVE my easel This easel is beautiful. This easel is functional. This easel has a small footprint. Most importantly it has WHEELS! My home is my studio, and it is small, I paint BIG, so my other easels were quite nice, but definitely not up to the task, tipping over this way and that, and being A-frames, were really good at tripping everyone. I read ALL the reviews, so I was prepared for inadequate assembly directions and didn't freak out when just about every piece I put together was either upside down or backwards or both. I just kept going, remembering if that 80+ year old lady could put hers together, so could I. I love this easel.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Easel Love how adjustable it is and wheels. Being able to move it was top priority to me since my "studio" space is actually the laundry room. It's so pretty that it's almost a shame to get paint on it. Just kidding.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Easel This is a very handsome and sturdy easel, perfect for my needs. Assembly is tricky, since the parts are dark and it's difficult to tell from the packaged instructions what's "up" and what's "down." Fortunately, the video instructions on the website made it clearer.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great easel. I thought this diesel last month and and very very happy with it. It went together easily with help from the video on the website. I love that it is on casters so that I can move it around my studio to get the best light. I can easily adjust for small to very large canvases and from sitting to standing. Great value for the cost!
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Easel! I LOVE this easel. I was at first skeptical when I saw the instructions for assembly but they were actually very simple to follow. It is so beautiful!
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for my purpose This is the third one I bought. I use it to display framed paintings in my gallery. It has a nice small footprint for this purpose. I think it is very stable considering I have some very heavy frames. The instructions are horrible as they do not discern in which direction a part should be attached or if it should be facing front or back. You eventually figure it out but it is annoying. For my purpose, I would like the parts that hold the painting to be wider to accommodate my thicker frames. That being said, I really like it. It moves easily and the wheels lock once it is in place. And it looks good. I plan to buy more.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing easel! I bought this easel for just $99 during Jerry's super sale offer. So far, this has been the best easel I've ever used. This easel take so less space, it was perfect for me as I had very less space in my room. The price is totally worth it and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone I know
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Easel for Me It can be difficult to find an easel in dark wood, and this easel meets that criteria while also being an H-frame (which I prefer). The easel seems to be good quality, it is a nice size, and I bought it for a fair price.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice design I bought this a month ago and have enjoyed it at a remarkable price! Handles an 83" canvas and looks great doing it.
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was everything I hoped for and more The box that it came in was "beaten up" to say the least, but the product was great, had 'rub' spots on one end of everything. I am assuming that was from the handling and the fact that the box was severely beaten up. Other than that, it went together nicely and I am pleased!!!!
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Like a fine piece of furniture! I was surprised to get a box of pieces. Like working a puzzle, but i’m 83 and did it! It was worth the challenge. Very good instructions!
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Easel I bought this to replace another new easel because this one holds larger canvases. ITS also beautiful enough to use as display easel. A bit hard to assemble but I did it. Very pleased
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found the right easel! I recently purchased this easel after nearly four decades of searching for and purchasing hopeful candidates for the "Right one". This easel is IT! Assembly was easy & I was in my studio painting on it in 30 minutes. The size of the easel works because I need a sturdy easel that can handle up to 60+" of canvas OR a small panel. changing the angle or height of the canvas is simple and quick, it stays firmly in place and I can say without a doubt it is also the prettiest easel I have ever owned!
Date published: 2018-04-17
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_98
  • loc_en_US, sid_PARENT0001098, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jerrys
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 13.53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Several reviewers have commented that canvas' wobble side to side due to the center mast not being flush with the side uprights. Is this correct? Is the center mast not flush with the side uprights?

Asked by: lorraineg57
No, that is not correct. The SoHo H frame easel is very sturdy when all easel instructions are followed. Please take a look at this video showing the features of the easel https://youtu.be/x4f4a5VnnDo I hope that this information is helpful, please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2019-01-19

I have a framed picture I'd like to use this to display, will it hold 40lbs?

Asked by: K719
We do not give weight limits or minimums to easels. The easel performance is measured by the size of canvas or board that the easel can hold. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2019-03-11

How heavy is this easel?

Asked by: Corinna
Thank you for contacting us! The easel weights 15.43 pounds. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-12-09

Can this be folded (the bottom ) for storage?

Asked by: NAndre
Yes, this easel does fold at the bottom and can be easily stored under your bed. You can view the folding feature for this easel in this video https://youtu.be/x4f4a5VnnDo Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-04-27

This type of easel it's good for painting with watercolors? Its just that painting at one flat table its pretty hard for my neck

Asked by: pawii
Thank you for contacting us. Some watercolor artists will work on easels, but most do not work on an H frame studio easel. Watercolor paint tends to run or drip and for this reason, it is not typically painted at an angle. We carry several watercolor easels that have a horizontal or low angle feature for watercolor artists. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-04-27

I bought this easel, and just got it assembled today.  However, the easel wobbles side-to-side BADLY because the bottom part is so loose in the mast.  Is this normal?  What can I do about it?  I also don't see where I can leave a review for this item.

Asked by: Sonya J
Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-827-8478 to go through the instructions step by step. It appears that you may have made an error during construction that will need to be corrected.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-12-09

Can the wheels be left off?

Asked by: Kikk
Yes, you can unscrew the wheels or not install the wheels, to begin with. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-03-19

Which wood is the easel made of? I'm looking for a sturdy stable easel and concerned that connections could get wobbly if wood is not a hardwood. Thanks.

Asked by: artistorama
The easel is made of a mixture of Beech and Pine. Pine is used for the interior grooves of the mast and the rest of the easel is pure Beechwood. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-03-16

What are the dimensions of this easel?

Asked by: Catd
The dimensions of the easel are listed in the tech note. You can access this information by clicking on the yellow T icon beside the price of the easel. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-12-09

What are the dimensions and weight of this, when disassembled? I'm trying to figure out whether it could be checked on an airplane without having to pay for oversized baggage. Thank you.

Asked by: J Foss
Thank you for contacting us. The dimensions of the box the easel ships in is 55"x 6"x 6". The weight of the disassembled easel and box is 16 pounds. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-09-06

Max mast height is?? I see what size canvas it holds, but I'd like to know if my ceiling is tall enough for full extension

Asked by: Christa
The mast adjusts to 8 feet and 1/2" total height when fully extended. That height measurement includes castor wheels. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-09-06

Will this easel tilt straight up to a 90 degree angle?

Asked by: Becky62
The Front Mast will go to a straight up position, however, the easel will not. It has to be on a lean for support but the work area can be moved to a 90-degree angle by adjusting the front mast. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Answered by: Customer Care
Date published: 2018-09-06

I see that it says that it can hold a canvas 2 inches deep easily. How deep in the bottom shelf? I want to put a flat screen TV on it and the base of the TV is between 2-3 inches. Thanks!

Asked by: Mjfish07
If you fill the bottom  to the front edge  2¨1/2 Or inside both sides 2¨ 1/8 Sorry, I can not attach the photo to ease understanding
Answered by: Gaetan
Date published: 2017-08-15
  • y_2019, m_6, d_26, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_PARENT0001098, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jerrys
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Save up to 57% off list
Product Icons:
  • Is Proprietary When you see this symbol on our site or in advertisements it is a Jerry's Artarama best value exclusive brand. The exclusive brands offer quality, exceptional performance & value. Comes with a 30 day money back guarantee!
Product Listing
Rollover / Enlarge Image
Name
Item #
List
Jerry's
Sale
Super
Status
Qty
SoHo Urban Artist Wooden H-Frame Studio Easel
Name:SoHo Urban Artist Wooden H-Frame Studio Easel
Item #:
87223
list:$258.45
Jerry's:$164.99
Sale:$139.99
Super Sale:$109.99
In Stock
Product Badge:
  • Is Proprietary When you see this symbol on our site or in advertisements it is a Jerry's Artarama best value exclusive brand. The exclusive brands offer quality, exceptional performance & value. Comes with a 30 day money back guarantee!
  • LPP Lowest Price - This item is already at the Best Lowest Price Possible and no further discounts or coupons can be applied.
  • SoHo H-Frame Easel, item #: 87223

    Measurements/Dimensions:
    Height:  72.75", mast adjusts to 98.75" total height (including casters)
    Base dimensions: 20.5" wide x 24" deep

    Tray Measurements:
    18.5" wide; 3.5" depth, 5" height
    Storage area/compartment under canvas holder: 3" deep
    Tray depth for canvases/panels: 2" deep

loading...